As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Pick | Product | Why | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Widest tool coverage | BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs Professional Foundation Powder Concealers Eyeshadow Blush Synthetic Makeup Brushes with Labeled instruction Black Case Upgraded Version | 18 pieces spanning face, eye and lip application, with labeled instruction and a black carry case | Check Price on Amazon |
| Named core kit with sponges | Real Techniques 6 Piece Everyday Essentials Makeup Brush Set | Four individually modeled brushes plus two Miracle Complexion Sponges for liquid and cream base | Check Price on Amazon |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Two very different answers to the same question: what should a beginner actually buy? One kit hands you 18 pieces in a black case. The other hands you four named brushes and two sponges. This comparison works only from the published listing specifications for each ASIN, retrieved 2026-09-10.
Quick Answer
Buy the BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs if you want breadth. Its listing describes an all-in-one kit covering foundation, powder, concealer, blush, contour, eyeshadow and brows, plus a lightweight carry case to keep the brushes organized and portable. That is the kit for someone who does not yet know which brush shapes they reach for, or who wants brow and lip tools included.
Buy the Real Techniques 6 Piece Everyday Essentials Makeup Brush Set if you want a defined, curated core. Its listing names each piece — RT400 Blush Brush, RT300 Deluxe Crease Brush, RT402 Setting Brush, RT200 Expert Face Brush — plus two Miracle Complexion Sponges. It is also the only one of these two whose listing states 100% vegan and cruelty-free, dermatologist tested and latex-free.
Head-to-Head Comparison Table
| Feature | BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs | Real Techniques 6 Piece Everyday Essentials Makeup Brush Set |
|---|---|---|
| Piece count | 18 pieces | 6 pieces: 4 brushes and 2 sponges |
| Named components | Not itemized model-by-model in the supplied listing; described as covering foundation, powder, concealer, blush, contour, eyeshadow, brows | RT400 Blush Brush, RT300 Deluxe Crease Brush, RT402 Setting Brush, RT200 Expert Face Brush, 2 Miracle Complexion Sponges |
| Bristle type | High-density silky synthetic bristles, described as no shedding | UltraPlush synthetic, custom-cut bristles with extended aluminum ferrules |
| Sponges included | Not stated in the supplied listing | 2 Miracle Complexion Sponges |
| Formula compatibility | Liquid, cream and powder products | Liquid, cream and powder formulas |
| Lip application | Listed for face, eyes and lips | Listing describes face and eye makeup |
| Storage | Soft, lightweight carry case included | Not stated in the supplied listing |
| Labeling | Labeled instruction per the product title | Not stated in the supplied listing |
| Animal testing / vegan | Not stated in the supplied listing | 100% vegan and cruelty-free, never tested on animals |
| Sensitive skin claim | Bristles described as soft against skin | Stated suitable for sensitive skin; dermatologist tested, latex-free |
| Price | BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs Professional Foundation Powder | Real Techniques 6 Piece Everyday Essentials Makeup Brush Set |
Design & Build Quality
Here's the thing: these two listings describe build quality in completely different vocabularies, and that tells you something.
BS-MALL's listing talks about sturdy handles and soft synthetic fibers built for long-term use, brushes that are easy to clean and quick-dry, and shapes that hold up with proper care. It also calls the design ergonomic and the brush shapes versatile. That is a durability claim from the seller, not an independent verification, and the supplied listing does not state handle material, ferrule material or brush dimensions.
Real Techniques goes narrower and more technical. Its listing specifies custom-cut UltraPlush synthetic bristles with extended aluminum ferrules, and attributes better product pickup and laydown to that construction. An extended ferrule is a real, checkable construction detail — the metal collar that clamps bristles to the handle — and naming aluminum is more specific than "sturdy handles."
Preferred on stated construction detail: Real Techniques, because the listing commits to a specific ferrule material and bristle cut. That is a documentation advantage, not proof of longer service life; neither listing supplies a warranty term or a durability standard.
Features & Functionality
Direct answer: the BS-MALL kit is broader, the Real Techniques kit is more defined.
Eighteen pieces is the headline. BS-MALL's listing frames the set as covering foundation, powder, concealer, blush, contour, eyeshadow and brows, and explicitly includes lips among the application areas. The product title of the BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs Professional Foundation Powder Concealers Eyeshadow Blush Synthetic Makeup Brushes with Labeled instruction Black Case Upgraded Version (ASIN B07MH1KHJ2) also states "Labeled instruction", but the supplied listing does not say what is labeled or how the labeling is presented.
What the supplied BS-MALL listing does not do is itemize which of the 18 pieces is which. You know the categories covered; you do not know the exact split between face and eye brushes from this data.
Real Techniques does the opposite. Every piece is named and modeled: RT400 Blush Brush, RT300 Deluxe Crease Brush, RT402 Setting Brush, RT200 Expert Face Brush, and two Miracle Complexion Sponges. You can map that to a routine before you buy — base with the sponge or the Expert Face Brush, cheeks with the RT400, setting powder with the RT402, eye crease with the RT300.
The sponges are the functional dividing line. Real Techniques' listing describes bouncing liquid or cream foundation, skin tint and concealer into skin for smooth, streak-free coverage, and says the sponge also works with BB cream, illuminators, blush, bronzer, contour and highlight, used damp for a natural finish. The supplied BS-MALL listing does not mention a sponge at all. If you prefer sponge application for base, that gap matters.
The case is the other dividing line, running the opposite direction. BS-MALL includes a soft, lightweight carry case described as keeping brushes organized, clean and portable for travel and daily use. The supplied Real Techniques listing does not state a case or holder, though the title does describe it as a travel gift set.
Performance
Nobody here has used either kit, so treat this as reading the specs and drawing inferences.
Both listings claim compatibility with liquid, cream and powder formulas, so neither restricts you to one product texture. BS-MALL attributes smooth pickup and blending, with no shedding and no streaks, to high-density silky synthetic bristles. Real Techniques attributes superior product pickup and laydown to custom-cut bristles with extended aluminum ferrules and promises a seamless, airbrushed finish.
Those are both seller performance claims. Neither listing supplies a measured shed rate, a fiber denier, a wash-cycle count or a third-party test. Anyone who tells you one blends better based on this evidence is guessing.
Where a real functional inference is available: two Miracle Complexion Sponges plus four brushes gives you two distinct base techniques in the Real Techniques box, while 18 brushes gives you more shape options within a single technique. Which of those matters more depends entirely on whether you apply foundation with a sponge.
Sensitive skin is the one performance-adjacent area where the evidence is genuinely lopsided. Real Techniques' listing states the bristles are suitable for sensitive skin and that the products are dermatologist tested and latex-free. BS-MALL's listing says the bristles are soft against skin, which is a comfort description, not a dermatological claim. That is not evidence BS-MALL performs worse on reactive skin — it is evidence the claim was not made in the supplied listing.
Preferred on documented skin-contact claims: Real Techniques.
Price & Value
No dollar figures here — offers move. BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs Professional Foundation Powder for the BS-MALL set and Real Techniques 6 Piece Everyday Essentials Makeup Brush Set for the Real Techniques set before deciding, because value in this category swings on where each lands the day you look.
What the specs let you say about value structure: BS-MALL delivers 18 pieces and a case per purchase; Real Techniques delivers 6 pieces, of which 2 are consumable-style sponges that wear out with use in a way brushes generally do not. No prices are supplied for either set, so cost per piece cannot be compared from this data. Per-piece math is also a weak proxy for usefulness if half the pieces sit unused.
The supplied data does not establish which is cheaper, which is better value, or how the brands rank on price. Do not let anyone tell you otherwise from this evidence set.
Which Should You Buy?
- Total beginner who wants every tool at once. Take the BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs. The 18-piece spread plus labeled instruction gives you a shape for foundation, powder, concealer, blush, contour, eyeshadow and brows without buying anything else. Check Price on Amazon
- Sponge-first base routine. Take the Real Techniques 6 Piece Everyday Essentials Makeup Brush Set. Two Miracle Complexion Sponges are included and the supplied BS-MALL listing does not mention a sponge. Check Price on Amazon
- Sensitive or reactive skin. Real Techniques is the documented choice — its listing states suitability for sensitive skin, dermatologist tested and latex-free.
- Vegan and cruelty-free is non-negotiable. Real Techniques states 100% vegan and cruelty-free and never tested on animals. The supplied BS-MALL listing does not address it either way.
- Travel and storage matter most. BS-MALL includes the soft, lightweight carry case; storage is not stated in the supplied Real Techniques listing.
- Buying a gift and unsure of the recipient's routine. Both listings pitch gifting, but the BS-MALL set's breadth reduces the chance the recipient is missing a tool they need.
- You already own base tools and want to fill eye and brow gaps. BS-MALL covers brows explicitly; the supplied Real Techniques listing names one eye brush, the RT300 Deluxe Crease Brush.
How We Research
This website does not do hands-on testing. For this comparison, we pulled the Amazon Creators API verified product record for each ASIN on 2026-09-10 and read every published listing feature bullet line by line, then compared only attributes both listings actually address — piece count, bristle material, formula compatibility, included accessories and stated skin-contact claims. Where one listing states something the other does not, we say so rather than treating silence as a negative.
Final Verdict
My call, stated plainly: the Real Techniques 6 Piece Everyday Essentials Makeup Brush Set is the better-documented kit, and the BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs is the more complete one.
Real Techniques earns the edge for buyers who care about verifiable specifics. Named brush models, extended aluminum ferrules, a stated sensitive-skin suitability, dermatologist tested, latex-free, 100% vegan and cruelty-free — that is a listing that commits to checkable claims, and two Miracle Complexion Sponges cover a base technique the other kit's supplied listing does not mention.
BS-MALL wins on raw coverage. Eighteen pieces spanning face, eye and lip work, labeled instruction, and a carry case is a lot of ground for one purchase, especially for someone who has not settled on a routine.
Neither wins on blending quality, because the supplied evidence does not support that verdict for either one. Decide on what you can verify: breadth and a case, or named tools, sponges and documented skin claims.
Sources & Methodology
Nothing on this page was physically or laboratory-tested by this website — no brush was washed, loaded with pigment or worn. What we did do is read the Amazon Creators API verified product record and every published listing feature bullet for ASIN B07MH1KHJ2 and ASIN B0814747R8 as retrieved on 2026-09-10, then hold the two sets against each other only on attributes both listings actually document. For makeup brushes, that approach reliably settles what is in the box, what the bristles are made of, which formulas each set is stated to handle and which skin-contact and cruelty-free claims each brand publishes — but bristle softness, shedding over months of washing and blend quality are things a spec sheet cannot decide, so check owner photographs and your own preferences on those.
General consumer-safety and recall guidance is available from the CPSC and USA.gov consumer protection.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best real techniques everyday essentials set bs mall 18 pcs makeup brush set in 2026?
Our top picks are BS-MALL Makeup Brush Set 18 Pcs Professional , Real Techniques 6 Piece Everyday Essentials M. We compare them in detail above using manufacturer specifications and current Amazon product data, including the specs and trade-offs that matter most for buyers.
What should you look for when buying real techniques everyday essentials set bs mall 18 pcs makeup brush set?
Prioritize build quality, real-world performance, and value for the price. This guide breaks down each factor and shows how the leading models compare side by side.
Are real techniques everyday essentials set bs mall 18 pcs makeup brush set worth the money?
For most buyers, the right pick delivers strong long-term value. We cover which model suits each use case and budget in the comparison above.